Let’s Play: Ascension – Rise of the Vigil

The newest set for Ascension, Rise of the Vigil, is out. I’ve been posting some questions about the first turn of the game which I’ll link at the end. Feel free to offer your suggestions.

I recently sat down with Jacery855 (check him out here on twitter: https://twitter.com/Jacery855) to play a game of the new set. I’ll start just like my other posts. I am going first and this is what is flipped onto the board.

Image

I elected to buy the Blackwatch Vanquisher thinking that getting the two Energy Shards early would be a good move. However, I’m beginning to lean more towards the Lifebound Muse the more games with the new set I play. Jacery’s hand wasn’t that great, showing up with 3 runes and 2 attack and elected to go with a Mystic and attacking the Cultist for one honor.

A couple of turns later I was able to snag the Loamspeaker Druid and another Energy Shard with it. Would you have gone for the mechana construct? Jacery followed suit and picked up the Lifebound Muse that I should have grabbed on the first turn.Image

Fast forward a few turns and what I view as the best card in this set is on the board: Tablet of the Dreamer. You might think 4 energy is hard to come buy. But with cards like Magnet Monk and Nyxian Spiritcaster (which generates 3 energy) it’s rather easy in most cases. Image

This card absolutely wrecked my game. Before this hit Jacery’s field, I was feeling pretty good. Up 13 to 2 in honor, I had energy going, and plenty of runes. Fast forward to the Tablet hitting the field and Energizing 4 and the game suddenly took a huge swing in honor allowing Jacery to purchase Oziah, Judge of Logos with a board full of monsters.

 

 

 

 

Here is the beast Oziah, Judge of Logos

 

Image

This monster of a card doesn’t always pay off, but when he does the game can swing in your favor in no time. Jacery had the card at the right moment and gained over 10 honor points, destroyed all my constructs and gained three more cards from the Big Bad Bunny.

Image

After a few more turns, the Tablet spawned another epic turn for Jacery. This time netting 24 points of honor tokens, drawing 3 cards, and gained even more cards. I must say that Herald of Doom is aptly named, especially when you are able to generate the alternate reward with 7 energy. Image

Using the Tablet to kill Herald of Doom, Jacery was rewarded with an entire center row of cards and honor! Ouch! Between just two activations of the Tablet of the Dreamer, there was over a 50 point swing in honor, crazy.

Image

When it was all said and done, I was destroyed 141 Honor to a very honorable 63 (cough).

Hope you enjoyed and if you haven’t picked up Ascension, what are you waiting for!

Until next time, get your games in!

2 thoughts on “Let’s Play: Ascension – Rise of the Vigil

  1. Pingback: Let’s Play Ascension – Rise of the Vigil @ascensiongame | Gamer Happenings

Leave a Reply

